Cars

I really wish cars weren’t so necessary, or so expensive to upkeep.  I know that part of it is my fault because I am a bit lax about car care.  However, it really does add up, even if you don’t need much.  And of course, when it rains, it pours.  Which is kinda fitting for today, as it is raining and I had to spend double what I expected on my car.

I  went in specifically for the NYS inspection and oil change.  I also asked them to look at my front tires and replace them if needed, as well as the rear brakes.  When I had my front brakes replaced, the mechanic said I had maybe 6 months left on the rear brakes, if I was lucky.  It’s been 8 months.

What I wasn’t prepared for was that I needed 4 new tires and a serious alignment (thank you towns for not fixing potholes in a timely fashion!) and roters, brake pads, and calipers to go with those rear brakes.  Ca-ching ca-ching.

But as I thought about it, I realized that it’s probably not wrong that I need 4 new tires, with the rough winter and all those unavoidable potholes, and I don’t think I’ve ever had the rear brake roters replaced in 8 years of owning this car.  So, in all honesty, I do believe it had to be done.  So I had them fix up my car, and I have to tell you, driving it home, it cut through the air like butter.  There’s no rattling, no shimmying, no creaking and groaning.  Smooth turning all around.  And my car stops when braking.

I just hope nothing else is needed for a while, or I’ll be walking to work.

Follow caffeinenut23 on Twitter

~ by caffeinenut on May 16, 2011.

Leave a comment